Why am I writing this blog

You know, if I told you that the reason that I started this blog was because I wanted to help other people, to give advice and words of wisdom, or just plain to show off, I’d be lying to you and to myself. To be honest, I actually can’t recall why I started, although I remember it was a Saturday night at 2 am. I try to never make my blogs about me, because in the end, I am just an intermediary, so I’ll give you examples of people who have thought the way I do to prove my points.

Why do you write a blog?, what’s the point?, are you making any money off of it?. Like I said, can’t quite recall why I started, but I am sure I know now the answer to all these questions. I’ll try to be brief and get to the point so that I don’t bore you too much.

It keeps me updated

Gandhi once said “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as you were to live forever”. I am constantly wanting to learn more and improve, and in order to write I must do research. I think that it is a natural instinct from human beings to want to be better, and to be better we must adapt to the rapid rhythm that the world is changing.

I get the opportunity to help other people

One thing I learned while writing this blog is something that Socrates once said, “I cannot teach anybody anything, I can only make them think”. I am convinced that most of the people who read my blog already know a lot of the things that I share, I am not teaching, I am trying to make you think about the potential that you have inside and how can you make the most out of it. A lot of times I don’t even know the people who I am helping and how did I help, but knowing that they can get something out of this for a good cause, puts a big fat smile on my face. I recently had 2 cases that made everything done in my blog worth it, one person said that he really needed to read something like this in a tough moment of his life to get through, so there was my writings, not me, what I wrote, in the right time, for the right reasons to help this person find a way. Then 2 weeks later, I quoted (again, not mine) “CFO says to CEO, what if we invest in our people and they leave? CEO says to CFO, what if we don’t and they stay?”, and that exact phrase  sparked someone else’s idea, who needed reassurance to go through with an investment plan for employees in a company. That’s the power of helping, and I thank you for giving me that opportunity. I don’t take credit for none of this, I didn’t teach anything, I helped them think.

It combines my 2 passions

Business is something that I am very passionate about, I call it my “learned passion”. Management, marketing, finances, sales, production, innovation, everything about it just makes me want to learn more. I wake up everyday thinking of ways to grow and improve on what I do.

Sports, what can I say, if you have ever talked with me, then you know that I love sports, this is my “born with passion”. I owe a lot of this to my Dad. Played my whole life, talk about it everyday, makes it easier for me to write this blog. If reading my blog is not making you want to win, then I must be doing something wrong.

When you look at the similarities of these two, then you understand why I do this. I highly respect both business and sports people, because I know and understand  the level of preparation, commitment, discipline, teamwork, ability to overcome challenges, along with a huge number of characteristics that define them. My high school baseball coach, used to say, “it’s not about who wants to win, it is about who wants it more”. That applies to baseball, basketball, business, competitive advantage, and anything in life that has to do with success. If another company is committed to put you out of business they will if you don’t want it enough, so you must want it more than them to succeed, fully focused, and as they say in sports, “leave everything on the field”, if they are to put you out, they are going to have a very, very tough time doing this, because you want it more.

It’s not just words

For some people I am selling false advertising, “just words”, some might even say I don’t know what I am talking about, and that’s fine, everyone is entitled to their opinion, but at the end of the day, it’s words that have talked us into doing something, it’s words that motivate us to be better, and there is a reason behind every word. I could give many reasons why I believe in what I am doing, but President Obama did this a few years back already to make my life easier. I hope you find this speech interesting, and again, I invite you to take what you consider valuable for you and drop what doesn’t fit in you game plan.

I hope that you have a great Sunday, and hopefully my reasons can talk you into helping too!

Best,

Arturo

Twitter: @asanvicente

Email: asanvicente@live.com

 

 

6 thoughts on “Why am I writing this blog

  1. Hi Arturo,

    Since I started reading your blog I found it very positive and I must say it really lifted my spirits.

    Living in a country/state sorrounded by such negative situations is not as easy as some people may think but it is very comfortable to hear/read/know people who are actually looking for the good and beautiful things life/God brings us.

    Some people involved in this whole negative environment may think everything is bad and everyone is looking for their own convenience but we rather think there are god things in life too and good people around and we rather look for that.

    We cannot just erase the bad things that are happening in our lives but we can choose to fight for the good things we own.

    Greetings,

    Cony Villarreal.

Leave a Reply

